Audio

Macy Gray triggers a freak-out.

Today I read a review of Macy Gray’s album called “Oh How Life Is.”
The title intrigued me, because it’s just what I’m always trying to write about.
The critic described Macy as a few things I’m always trying to be:
assured, original, adventurous.

But this was the statement that got my heart:

“At times, Gray attempts more than she can achieve — but it’s always captivating, even during its stumbles. And when it works, it soars higher than most contemporary R&B.”

Stephen Thomas Erlewine, Rovi

Thanks Macy Gray.
I wanna be like that.

Because I don’t know if you noticed up there, but I said one of the things I am trying to be is assured. And what do I even mean by that? How can you try to be assured? Seems like that’s something you just choose to be. Otherwise it’s like you’re saying, I know those flowers are dying, but I’m trying to water them! No you’re not. That’s ridiculous. Just water them. Or don’t. There’s not much in between there, right? I’m not sure there’s much in between for me when it comes to being assured. Or confident. Or secure. (Choose your favorite word.) I recognize that sometimes these things take time or therapy or something. But I’ve had time. (And hey, I’ve had therapy!) I don’t think I need anything more than to just make up my mind. I never had problems with being confident before my mission or on my mission– so what’s the deal now? I know it’s in me. I just need to pour some water in the vase and give those little babies a good sniff. This is my life! And frankly, I’m tired of writing about who I was. I’m tired of having little mini identity issues on my little mini blog.

“At times, she attempts more than she can achieve — but it’s always captivating, even during its stumbles. And when it works, it soars.”

That statement reminds me of who I was.
I think it’s time I stop feeling so relieved when I find things that remind me of who I was, and start looking for things that remind me of who I am. And maybe just stop obsessing over the difference between those two people. So friends, if you’re out there reading, that’s what I’m doing for a few posts. Just writing about who I am. And not deceiving myself that there is a right or wrong answer to that.

Image

Until then, do your thing Macy Gray.
I’ll just be here writing about mine.

Leave a Reply

